Call for Nominations to the 2023-2024 Good Roads Board of Directors

Topic: News
Published: November 2022

Download a nomination form here

Pursuant to Good Roads Policy B-008, the Nominating Committee of the 2022-2023 Good Roads Board of Directors will present a slate of 11 directors to attendees at the Annual Good Roads Conference taking place April 16 – April 19, 2023, at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto, Ontario.

The Good Roads Board of Directors understands the strength that diversity provides and is committed to achieving equity and inclusion on its leadership team. Women and individuals from equity seeking groups are encouraged to apply.

The following directors will automatically serve on the 2022-2023 Board of Directors:

  • President: John Parsons – Division Manager, Road Operations, City of London;
  • First Vice-President: Antoine Boucher – Director of Public Works and Engineering, Municipality of East Ferris;
  • Second Vice-President: Cheryl Fort – Mayor, Township of Hornepayne; and
  • Immediate Past President: Paul Schoppmann – Municipality of-Charles.

The Nominating Committee will put forward a slate comprised from Good Roads’ municipal and First Nations membership. The slate will satisfy the geographic requirements prescribed in Section 12 of the Constitution as well as the criteria in Policy B-008.

The following vacancies need to be filled:

City of Toronto 1 Vacancy
The City of Toronto Zone consists of the City of Toronto.
South Central Zone 2 Vacancies
The South Central Zone consists of the municipalities within and First Nations adjacent to the Counties of Dufferin, Grey, Simcoe, and Wellington, and municipalities in and including the Regional Municipalities of Durham, Halton, Niagara, Peel and York, and the City of Hamilton.
Southeast Zone 1 Vacancy
The Southeast Zone consists of the municipalities within and First Nations adjacent to the Counties of Frontenac, Haliburton, Hastings, Lanark, Leeds and Grenville, Lennox and Addington, Northumberland, Peterborough, Prescott and Russell, Prince Edward, Renfrew, and Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, and the Cities of Kawartha Lakes and Ottawa.
Southwest Zone 1 Vacancy
The Southwest Zone consists of the municipalities within and First Nations adjacent to the Counties of Brant, Bruce, Elgin, Essex, Haldimand, Huron, Lambton, Middlesex, Norfolk, Oxford, and Perth, the municipality of Chatham-Kent, and municipalities in and including the Regional Municipality of Waterloo.

Access the Good Roads Zone Map here.

There are no vacancies in the Northern Zone.

Those elected shall serve for a two-year term ending on Wednesday, April 16, 2025.

Any member of Council or a permanent full-time staff from a Good Roads member municipality or First Nation who is interested in being considered as a candidate for a position on the Board of Directors must complete the attached Nomination Consent form found below and submit it along with a résumé to the attention of Rick Harms, Chair of the Nominating Committee no later than 1700 h Eastern Time on Monday, January 16, 2023. Nominations can be emailed to or mailed to Good Roads, 1525 Cornwall Road, Unit 22, Oakville, Ontario L6J 0B2.

The Nominating Committee will meet on January 18, 2023, to recommend a slate of directors to the membership. The Nominating Committee is comprised of the following directors:

  • Chair: Dave Burton, Immediate Past President
  • Vice Chair: Rick Harms, Past President
  • Members: Melissa Abercrombie, Good Roads Director; Chris Angelo, Good Roads Director; Antoine Boucher, Good Roads Second Vice-President

Questions regarding the nomination process or serving on the Board of Directors can be directed to Scott Butler at or 416-564-4319.